top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRahul Gupta

The Final Blog

This is going to be the last update, I plan to blog about, so I will be providing a status on everything. There is still a lot of work that I have left to do, mainly the fabrication of a design. Second, I didn’t do anything over break except think about all the things that I have to fabricate. I have completed all the challenges that I was given, but I didn’t fabricate everything from those challenges. Over the next couple of days, I will fabricate those and create one final post about everything that I have done. Some examples include the 3d model from the Christmas challenge and the second stand that we were supposed to design. The website is also due to an update in content and will be changing over the next couple of days. For example, there is going to be a new page, another update presentation, and instructions on how to small projects. The Minecraft server on the Raspberry Pi is offline due to the amount of work that is required to update and fix it for the new server update that came out.

The status of my main project is in production. The SVG file of the school was cut and I been assembling the pieces, but I didn’t account for the thickness of the material that I was using, so there is a chance that I am going to recut the pieces out of a thinner material. Pictures of the cut and the model can be seen below. I also plan to 3D print the model as well, since it is an STL file. I don’t think I have enough time to paint it or do anything extra to it, which is a shame, but it will be cool when it is done. In my final post, I will provide dimensions of it and what the scale of the model to the real building is.

Although these past few months have been a great learning experience, there are some things that I wish I done differently, many of which pertain to laser cutting. For example, I wish I would’ve known about how laser cutter needs a good amount of distance from other objects that it is cutting, otherwise it will burn everything around it. Another thing that I wish I would’ve done over break was number all the pieces that I cutting since I spent an hour of class time doing that. I tend to either oversize or undersize the cuts, on the contrary, I don’t have problems with the 3D printers. I learned how to use adobe illustrator to an intermediate level for 3D design and I think that my skill set grew over these past months. I feel like if I was assigned a similar project like the school model, I would feel more comfortable doing it because I would be proactive towards all the mistakes that I made.

All the things that I discussed in this blog post and previous blog posts will be finalized and posted by January 16th.














V1:


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Projects

Here is that projects tab that I promised: https://rahulgupta5.wixsite.com/home/blog

bottom of page